Making recipes work for everyone > Metric New Zealand

ow I love to get email from One Roast Chicken subscribers. And this week, boy did I get a great one. Michele signed up for Recipe 1.1 > Roast Chicken with Rosemary, and within minutes she had unsubscribed.

Now, some people do sign up for the lovely free recipe, admire the photos, get excited about the possibilities of a roast chicken dinner … and then they unsubscribe. But, no kidding, I think it’s only happened once. Most people stick around to see what happens next 🙂 .

Not Michele.

She reviewed the first recipe and then she unsubscribed. And she wrote me a nice note:

Lovely recipes, but not in metric (for New Zealand). Could be converted I know, but makes it more difficult for a novice.

Wow. I am very lucky that she took the time to write me this brief message, even on her way out. Yes, I had realized (thanks to Elmira) that I needed to include fahrenheit, celsius and gas mark settings for oven temperatures. But before Michele from New Zealand wrote to me, I hadn’t fully opened myself to the truly global reach of One Roast Chicken, and how everyone was going to come to ORC with their own needs and requirements.

I also realized how important it was to me that all subscribers have a positive, successful experience with all of the recipes. Especially beginning and inexperienced cooks.

So I wrote Michele back:

You’re absolutely right. In upcoming recipes I’ve begun to address the issue of pounds / kilograms / cups and fahrenheit / celsius / gas mark — but I haven’t yet gone back and updated the first recipe for Roast Chicken. My apologies. I’d be happy to fix that tomorrow and send it to you. Your honest feedback is just the sort of thing I need to ensure that all of my subscribers are getting their specific needs met; I really appreciate it.

Michele was glad to hear from me. She wrote:

Wow, lovely to hear from you. Unfortunately, we metric users miss out on so much from overseas with regard to recipes. I would love to get the updated recipe when you get a chance and appreciate you offering to do that. I actually have a friend in mind who would greatly benefit from your service. She doesn’t cook at all, and is a very busy business woman, but she has a desire to start cooking. She wouldn’t have the knowledge or time to spend converting recipes, so the simpler the better.

I got busy and I have now updated Recipe 1.1 > Roast Chicken with Rosemary to include metric measurements. If you signed up for ORC before March 2007, then your recipe does not have the metric equivalents. If want to download the updated version, click here.

What do you think? Is there anything else I can do for you to make your life easier?

Shelley MacDonald Beaulieu, Owner & Head Chef
www.oneroastchicken.com

Leave a Reply

